For Malice and Mercy

For Malice and Mercy

A World War II Novel

Gary W. Toyn

$9.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

This captivating American family saga, inspired by little-known true events, is a brilliantly rendered debut novel, perfect for fans of WE ARE THE LUCKY ONES and THE LAST YEAR OF THE WAR.German immigrants Karl and Marta Meyer are loyal Americans, especially after an eye-opening visit to see their family during Hitler's pre-war rise to power. When America enters the war, the FBI arrests the Meyers as spies, then strips them of their citizenship, rights and livelihood. They are banished to a German/Japanese internment camp, but then violently targeted by Hitler loyalists. Deportation back to war-torn Germany seems their only hope of survival.Their son Hank enlists in the US Army Air Corps, hoping his pay can save the family's home. After his B-17 is shot down, his ability to speak fluent German helps him evade capture. When the Gestapo is on his trail, he's pursued as a spy and faces certain death if they can catch him. His life depends on the daring plan of two unlikely collaborators. This meticulously researched novel reveals untold stories of legalized hatred and the cost of unjustified suspicion. For Malice and Mercy has great relevance for our day, weaving a spellbinding saga of treachery, survival, and unmerited forgiveness.


Author

Gary W. Toyn:
Gary W. Toyn traveled worldwide for the U.S. Department of Defense, and is a former sports reporter covering the NBA and the Olympic games. He has written multiple books relating to inspiration and courage, teaming up with people like Stephen R. Covey, Bob Dole, Harry Reid, J. Willard Marriott, Jr., NFL quarterback Steve Young, among many others. His book, The Quiet Hero, was a national finalist for the IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award. This is his debut novel. Gary W. Toyn traveled worldwide for the U.S. Department of Defense, and is a former sports reporter covering the NBA and the Olympic games. He has written multiple books relating to inspiration and courage, teaming up with people like Stephen R. Covey, Bob Dole, Harry Reid, J. Willard Marriott, Jr., NFL quarterback Steve Young, among many others. His book, The Quiet Hero, was a national finalist for the IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award. This is his debut novel.

Info

Reviews